Latest news
  1. WADA publishes 2018 List of Prohibited Substances and Methods
  2. CAS Decision Puts IFAF in Waiting Mode
  3. United States Flag & Touch Football League Joins United States Federation of American Football
  4. IWFL And USFAF Partner – To Strengthen America’s Favorite Sport
  5. IFAF Provides Chiropractic Services in Its Official Competitions

The International Federation of American Football hosts a calendar of international tackle, flag and beach flag football tournaments for men, women, juniors and youth. They establish world champions and promote a competitive spirit and friendly relationships among IFAF members. Federations host national, international and club competitions within the 103 nations where the growing sport of American football is played and governed by IFAF.

Senior Tackle World Championship

The IFAF World Championship of American Football is an international American football competition held every four years and contested by teams representing member nations. The competition is run by the International Federation of American Football (IFAF), the international governing body for the sport. The most recent tournament in 2015, there were 7 teams in the tournament.

The defending champions are the United States, who won the 2015 championship after winning the 2011 edition and the 2007 edition which was their first appearance. Japan won the 1999 and 2003 championships.

The championship was held in Italy in 1999, in Germany in 2003, in Kawasaki, Japan in 2007, and in Austria in 2011. The 2015 tournament was played in Canton, Ohio, United States.

  • Established in 1999
  • Played every four years

SWC Summaries

Year Host Final Third-place match Number of
Winner Score Runner-up 3rd place Score 4th place
1999 Italy Japan 6 – 0 (OT) Mexico Sweden 38 – 13 Italy 6
2003 Germany Japan 34 – 14 Mexico Germany 36 – 7 France 4
2007 Japan United States 23–20 (2 OT) Japan Germany 7 – 0 Sweden 6
2011 Austria United States 50 – 7 Canada Japan 17 – 14 Mexico 8
2015 United States United States 43 – 18 Japan Mexico 20 – 7 France 7

Women’s Tackle World Championship

The IFAF Women’s World Championship is the international championship for women in American football. The first event was held in 2010, in Stockholm, Sweden, with six countries competing. The United States took home the gold while not letting any team they played score. The second and latest event was held in 2013, with Vantaa, Finland, hosting the games. The United States swept the competitors again, winning the gold medal.

  • Established in 2009
  • Played every four years
  • Players ages eighteen and older

WWC Summaries

Year Host Final Third-place match
Winner Score Runner-up 3rd place Score 4th place
2010 Sweden United States 66 – 0 Canada Finland 26 – 18 Germany
2013 Finland United States 64 – 0 Canada Finland 20 – 19 Germany
2017 TBA

Flag Football World Championship

The IFAF Flag Football World Championship has been held since 2002 and is the showpiece bi-annual tournament for senior national teams competition in 5-on-5 flag football and has separate competitions for both the men and the women.

  • Established in 2002
  • Played every two years
  • Male and female teams compete

FFWC Summaries (Man)

Year Host Country Gold medal game Bronze medal game
Gold Score Silver Bronze Score Fourth place
2002 Austria Austria 6–0 Germany France 12–6 Sweden
2004 France Austria 26–24 Germany France 40-23 Japan
2006 South Korea France 46–32 Denmark Thailand 45–33 Austria
2008 Canada Canada 12–6 Denmark France 45–0 United States
2010 Canada United States 35–19 Denmark Italy 28–24 Canada
2012 Sweden Austria 47–40 United States Denmark 44–33 Mexico
2014 Italy United States 40–14 Mexico Italy 53–14 Canada
2016 United States United States 33–32 Denmark Mexico 39–26 Austria

FFWC Summaries (Women)

Year Host Country Gold medal game Bronze medal game
Gold Score Silver Bronze Score Fourth place
2002 Austria Sweden France
2004 France Mexico 42–12 Finland Sweden 6–0 France
2006 South Korea France 46–32 Japan Finland 45–33 Sweden
2008 Canada Mexico 27–18 Canada France 19–13 United States
2010 Canada Canada 31–18 United States Austria 33–20 Mexico
2012 Sweden Mexico 33–32 United States France 39–27 Austria
2014 Italy Canada 32–21 United States Austria 34–20 Mexico
2016 United States Panama 35–22 Austria Mexico 41–20 Canada

Beach Football World Championship

The first ever Beach Football World Championship in 2017 will take place in Costa Rica. Competition is going to be organized in the beginning of November in Tamarindo.
Beach Football World Championship will be organized in three categories: men, women and mixed.

Tournament in the men’s category is intended for men over 18 years old. Ladies over 16 years old can participate in the women’s tournament.
All teams will play 4 vs. 4. The effective playing time is 2×15 minutes for Championship rounds.

U-19 World Championship

The IFAF U19 World Championship is the world championship of American football for players under the age of 19 organized by the International Federation of American Football. It was announced on June 2008 and the first competition started on Saturday, June 27, 2009 at Canton, Ohio.

The inaugural IFAF U-19 World Championship was one of the most significant international football events in the 15-year history of IFAF. The event introduced the sophistication of international football development to millions of U.S. football fans and increased awareness of American football internationally. More than 40,000 fans attended the three game days at Fawcett Stadium as eight nations from four continents competed at the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio. The United States was the inaugural champion of the event.

  • Established in 2012
  • Played every two years
  • Players age nineteen and under

U-19WC Summaries

Year Host Final Third-place game
Winner Score Runner-up 3rd place Score 4th place
2009 United States United States 41–3 Canada Japan 42–27 Mexico
2012 United States Canada 23–17 United States Japan 7–0 Austria
2014 Kuwait United States 40–17 Canada Mexico 31–30 Austria
  • Established in 2017
  • Male, female and mix teams compete