Latest news
  1. Spain to Host Flag Football European Championships
  2. IOC Announced Declaration to Protect Clean Athletes
  3. The Athlete Voice, Compliance and Whistleblowing take centre stage at WADA Annual Symposium
  4. WADA launches ”Speak Up!” – A secure digital platform to report doping violations
  5. European Football League schedule set for 2017

IFAF | History

First national American Football federations
The first national American Football federation outside of the United States was founded in Canada in 1896. Japan, an early adopter of American football, established its national federation in 1936 and the first European federation was formed in 1976.
European Federation of American Football
Since then, the sport has experienced a significant expansion, especially in Europe, culminating in the founding of the European Federation of American Football (EFAF) in 1993.
International Federation of American Football
Five years later (1998), the International Federation of American Football (IFAF) was officially formed.

As the international governing body IFAF looks after American Football and its three disciplines: tackle, flag and beach football.

Participation in competitions and tournaments are a cornerstone of IFAF objectives and the inaugural IFAF Senior World Championship kicked off in Palermo, Italy, in 1999. Japan became the sport’s first world champion by defeating Mexico 6-0 in overtime in the championship game. The year 2012 brought new organization to IFAF’s continental organizations creating IFAF Africa, IFAF Americas, IFAF Asia, IFAF Europe, and IFAF Oceania.

IFAF also governs the Women’s World Cup, the Under-19 Junior World Championships and the World Flag Football Championships for both men and women.

In 2013, IFAF was granted provisional membership in the International Olympic Committee (IOC).

In 2014, IFAF became a member of Association of IOC Recognised International Sport Federation (ARISF).

With 103 member country federations IFAF looks toward the future.

Member of Sportaccord & Arisf - Signatory of WADA Code - Partners with DSFU, FISU & IWGA